• 163.835 movies
  • 10.482 shows
  • 30.483 seasons
  • 619.047 actors
  • 9.043.474 votes
banner banner

Cannes Film Festival

The Cannes Film Festival, previously known as the International Film Festival, is an annual movie festival which acts as a preview for upcoming releases. It is considered to be one of the most prestigious movie festivals in the world and has been running since 1939.

The most coveted awards are the Palme d'Or and the Grand Prix though each of the awards given at the festival comes with its own degree of prestige.

Due to the Second World War, the festival skipped editions until 1946.

It is held at the Palais des Festivals et des Congres.

The Palme d'Or

The most prestigious award given at the Cannes Film Festival is the Palme d'Or (Golden Palm in English).

There have been several incarnations of the Palme d'Or, with the oldest movie to win the award coming in 1939 (Union Pacific). However, this was actually awarded decades later at the 2002 ceremony.

Over the 1950s and 1960s, the name of the award would switch between the Palme d'Or and the Grand Prix du Festival International du Film.

Since 1975, it has been consistently named the Palme d'Or, with the most recent recipient being Triangle of Sadness in 2022.

Year Winner
2022 Triangle of Sadness
2021 Titane
2020 N/A
2019 Parasite
2018 Shoplifters
2017 The Square
2016 I, Daniel Blake
2015 Dheepan
2014 Winter Sleep
2013 Blue is the Warmest Colour
2012 Amour
2011 The Tree of Life
2010 Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives
2009 The White Ribbon
2008 The Class
2007 4 Months, 3 Weeks and 2 Days
2006 The Wind That Shakes the Barley
2005 L'Enfant
2004 Fahrenheit 9/11
2003 Elephant
2002 The Pianist
2001 The Son's Room
2000 Dancer in the Dark
1999 Rosetta
1998 Eternity and a Day
1997 The Eel / Taste of Cherry
1996 Secrets & Lies
1995 Underground
1994 Pulp Fiction
1993 The Piano / Farewell My Concubine
1992 The Best Intentions
1991 Barton Fink
1990 Wild at Heart
1989 Sex, Lies and Videotape
1988 Pelle the Conqueror
1987 Under the Sun of Satan
1986 The Mission
1985 When Father Was Away on Business
1984 Paris, Texas
1983 The Ballad of Narayama
1982 Yol / Missing
1981 Man of Iron
1980 All That Jazz / Kagemusha
1979 Apocalypse Now / The Tin Drum
1978 The Tree of Wooden Clogs
1977 Padre Padrone
1976 Taxi Driver
1975 Chronicle of the Years of Fire

The Grand Prix

The second most prestigious award given at the Cannes Film Festival is the Grand Prix.

There have been several incarnations of the Grand Prix, as it was previously known as the Grand Prix Special du Jury and the Grand Prix du Jury.

Since 1995, it has been consistently named the Grand Prix, with the most recent recipients being Close and Stars at Noon in 2022.

Year Winner
2022 Close  / Stars at Noon
2021 Compartment No.6 / A Hero
2020 N/A
2019 Atlantics
2018 BlacKkKlansman
2017 BPM (Beats per Minute)
2016 It's Only the End of the World
2015 Son of Saul
2014 The Wonders
2013 Inside Llewyn Davis
2012 Reality
2011 Once Upon a Time in Anatolia / The Kid with a Bike
2010 Of Gods and Men
2009 A Prophet
2008 Gomorrah
2007 The Mourning Forest
2006 Flanders
2005 Broken Flowers
2004 Oldboy
2003 Uzak
2002 The Man Without a Past
2001 The Piano Teacher
2000 Devils on the Doorstep
1999 Humanite
1998 Life is Beautiful
1997 The Sweet Hereafter
1996 Breaking the Waves
1995 Ulysses' Gaze