• 163.835 movies
  • 10.482 shows
  • 30.483 seasons
  • 619.047 actors
  • 9.043.481 votes
banner banner

Tribeca Film Festival

The Tribeca Film Festival is an annual movie festival celebrating the best of film each year whether it be from an artistic or technical point of view. It is considered to be one of the most prestigious film festivals in the world and each year takes place in Lower Manhattan in New York City.

The festival was established by Robert De Niro, Jane Rosenthal, and Craig Hatkoff in 2002 as a way to help catalyse the economy in New York following the 9/11 attacks.

The most coveted awards are for Best U.S Narrative Feature and Best World Narrative Feature, though each of the awards given at the festival comes with its own degree of prestige.

Each year the festival hosts over 600 screenings.

Best Narrative Feature

The Best Feature is the most prestigious award at the Tribeca Film Festival as it encompasses how well-made a movie is as a whole, with many factors taken into consideration as opposed to individual factors for the other remaining awards.

Up until 2015, there was just one main Narrative Feature award, but this has since expanded into two sections, U.S Narrative and World Narrative.

The first film to win the award was Roger Dodger in 2002.

Year U.S Narrative Winner World Narrative Winner
2021 The Novice Brighton 4th
2020 The Half of It The Hater
2019 Burning Cane Scheme Birds
2018 Diane N/A
2017 Keep the Change Son of Sofia
2016 Dean Junction 48
2015 N/A Virgin Mountain
2014 N/A Zero Motivation
2013 N/A The Rocket
2012 N/A War Witch
2011 N/A She Monkeys
2010 N/A When We Leave
2009 N/A About Elly
2008 N/A Let the Right One In
2007 N/A My Father My Lord
2006 N/A Iluminados por el fuego
2005 N/A Stolen Life
2004 N/A Green Hat
2003 N/A Blind Shaft
2002 N/A Roger Dodger